34 - 0622024
34 - 0622024

Breaking Free (180gr. Vinyl)

  • Artist: Zoe, Layla
  • Format: LP Audiophile
  • Speciality: Audiophile LP (Vinyl)
  • Order No.: 0622024
  • Release Date: 22.07.2016
  • Label: Ruf Records
  • Genre: Blues

"Modern life moves fast. It’s easy to stumble through your days, suppress your desires, swallow down your dreams. To hear Layla Zoe sing is to experience an emotional awakening. I want people to get in touch with the feelings they bury deep inside their hearts, explains the Canadian singer-songwriter. I rip people’s hearts out, then put them back in…

After nine acclaimed albums and too many tear-it-up live shows to count, Breaking Free is the release that confirms Layla’s status as the pack-leader and standout voicebox of Canadian blues. More than that, this tenth album is set to skyrocket her upward trajectory on the international scene, and build on the momentum of 2013’s The Lily (dubbed thrilling by The Blues and crowned amongst Downbeat’s Best Albums Of The Year).

Ever since she fell for the blues via her father’s record collection – then fronted his band aged just fourteen – it was clear that Layla had a voice in a million. Those astonishing lungs have led her from early cover bands in British Columbia to her debut solo album in 2005, through sessions with Henrik Freischlader and hook-ups with Sonny Landreth, and onto world-renowned stages from Montreal Jazz Festival to Rockpalast. No wonder that her much-missed friend and occasional collaborator Jeff Healey was once moved to comment: She’s created probably the biggest buzz vocally of any singer I’ve heard about in years in Toronto. She is wonderful…

Now, as she unveils her new roof-raising material, the buzz on the international blues scene is deafening. Breaking Free and breaking through, in 2016, Layla Zoe comes armed with the album that delivers on her skyscraping potential. Hang on to your hearts…


Layla Zoe – vocals

Jan Laacks – guitar, percussions, organ, backing vocals

Gregor Sonnenberg – Bass, Organ, Keys

Hardy Fischötter – Drums, Percussions

Sonny Landreth – special guest on “Wild One”"

  • Backstage Queen
  • Why Do We Hurt The Ones We Love
  • Wild One
  • Work Horse
  • Breaking Free
  • Wild Horses
  • A Good Man
  • He Loves Me