Vocal Jazz
35 - 030381
Vocal Jazz
35 - 030381

Dazzling Blue

  • Artist: Cole, Alexis
  • Format: CD
  • Speciality: Binaural
  • Order No.: 030381
  • Release Date: 26.02.2016
  • Label: Chesky
  • Genre: Vocal Jazz

Inspired by Paul Simon’s contributions, Alexis Cole offers this very special treatment of his music. With Dazzling Blue, vocalist Cole and producers David Chesky and Nicholas Prout sifted through some of Simon’s lesser known compositions. Herein they are presented in unalloyed simplicity, emphasizing the incandescent quality, and unadorned beauty of his lyrics.

Ms. Cole has a marvelous voice of great depth. Her clear, warm resonance strips away all ornamentation and gets you to the marrow of the songwriter’s stories. The vocals are haunting, and a testament to Cole's cross-cultural vocal training. Cole is joined by an excellent group of musicians whose collective body of work is well known to roots music aficionados. They all are an integral part of the whole.

Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band appears right before you with this spacious, lush and multi-dimensional recording. Now headphone users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Recordings. Also these new Binaural+ Series albums capture even more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event. You will hear some of the most natural and pure music ever recorded.


Alexis Cole - Vocals

Marvin Sewell – Guitar

Julie Harris - Native American Flute

Mark Peterson - Bass

Jeff Haynes - Percussion

Gus Courtsunis - Percussion

Maria Quintanilla - Background- Vocals

Evan Sundquist - Background- Vocals

  • St. Judy's Comet
  • Jonah
  • Dazzling Blue
  • Something So Right
  • Another Galaxy
  • Nobody
  • Song About The Moon
  • Everything About It Is A Love Song
  • Long, Long Day
  • Love
  • That's Where I Belong
  • Quiet