34 - 0622042
34 - 0622042

Hand Me Down My Moonshine (180g LP)

  • Artist: Allison, Luther
  • Format: LP Audiophile
  • Speciality: Audiophile LP (Vinyl)
  • Order No.: 0622042
  • Release Date: 23.10.2020
  • Label: Ruf Records
  • Genre: Blues

This release is LUTHER ALLISON’S first acoustic endeavour, and was recorded at LUTHER’S Paris residence. Ruf Records has added another facet to the rich legacy of ALLISON with these tunes. These intimate acoustic encounters with Luther, his guitar and occasional friends are rarities in the body of his work and performances.

LUTHER’S vibrant acoustic stylings and his down-home, unamplified vocals make this affair a pleasurable listen. Accompanying LUTHER on all but one tune is his touring bassist, Zox on acoustic bass. Euro-guitarist Patrick Verbeke helps out on two tunes with contributions on steel and 12-string guitars. LUTHER’S son, BERNARD ALLISON provides the slide guitar action and background vocals on the final cut. Thierry Menesclou gives up the harmonica chops on the same tune.

LUTHER’S guitar virtuosity, along with his familiarity and association with his music makes this effort another feather in his hat. The feel of this music is restful, and yet playfully exchanging. It will seem as if you are sitting in LUTHER’S living room and listening to this. The DAT recordings are pure and crisp with little sound distortion.

Of the twelve tunes on this release, LUTHER’S pen stroked off ten of them. He also produced the biscuit. LUTHER ALLISON was always an intimate performer; one who engaged his audience and took them on a musical excursion. This disc is not any different! LUTHER is still here to give us some choice encounters with the blues. These acoustic sessions are only a sweet topping on his already multi-layered cake!

  • Good Morning Love
  • One More
  • Lightning Bolt
  • I Need A Friend
  • Castle
  • She's Fine
  • Stay With Me
  • Farmer's Child
  • Don't Burn My Bread
  • You're The One
  • Hand Me Down My Moonshine
  • Meet Me In My Own Hometown