Vocal Jazz
35 - 030420
Vocal Jazz
35 - 030420


  • Artist: Abrams, Casey
  • Format: CD
  • Speciality: Binaural
  • Order No.: 030420
  • Release Date: 14.06.2019
  • Label: Chesky
  • Genre: Vocal Jazz

An album that hearkens back to the golden era of Jazz on Manhattan's 52nd street, where smoke filled rooms played host to after-hours jam sessions where musicians got together with their peers to play the music that touched their souls. Casey Abrams is the centerpiece of a tremendous ensemble that includes Jimmy Greene (Sax), Mark Whitfield (Guitar), Anne Drummond (Flute), and Giveton Gelin (Trumpet).

Jazz is the culmination of decades of combined mastery and skill of the participating players, presented through the lens of a dozen songs from the annals of the greatest American art form...Jazz. From "Why Don't You Do Right" to "Autumn Leaves" or "The Girl from Ipanema", you'll hear one of the most unique voices and personalities to enter Jazz in decades present this material to you as if it were the first time.

The album was recorded in stunning high definition fashion using our new recording methodology which pairs a stereo ribbon microphone capturing crystal clear vocal performance with two spaced omni-directional microphones encompassing the other players and the immaculate acoustics of the church in which the album was recorded. This new recording style will leave you feeling like the band is right in front of you while still creating a timeless presence that will have you coming back for years to come.

  • Autumn Leaves
  • I've Got The World on a String
  • Need Your Love So Bad
  • You Are So Beautiful
  • Why Don’t You Do Right?
  • Hound Dog
  • One Note Samba
  • L-O-V-E
  • The Girl from Ipanema
  • Fly Me To The Moon
  • Round Midnight
  • Blackbird